top of page

The Wildermuth Award for Excellence in Education

Since the Wildermuth Award for Excellence in Education was established in 1987, FACF has partnered with the School District of Fort Atkinson and the Fort Atkinson Education Association to fund the cash award presented annually to an outstanding teacher in our district.

The prestigious award is named in honor of Ron Wildermuth, a longtime teacher and director of instruction in the district who died in a motorcycle accident at the beginning of the 1986-87 school year. It is presented each year at the fall convocation, because of Ron’s strong involvement in the hiring of new teachers and in planning this event during his tenure.

Nominees may be a public school teacher, media specialist, school counselor, school social worker, school psychologist or other certified staff member and are nominated by colleagues, administrators, community members, parents and students. A selection committee of five teachers, one administrator, one community member, and last year’s recipient have the tough job to narrow the list and choose the winner.

Every year, we look forward to celebrating SDFA’s outstanding educators with this award and following along as the SDFA Facebook page shares the talented nominees and the good work they have done for our district. We hope you do the same!

Photos show a few past recipients – Jude Hartwick (2009), Roger Rumppe (2011), Kari Johnson (2014), Sam Fettig (2018), and Dan Hansen (2022) – pictures courtesy of Jefferson County Daily Union.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page